Chicken Fried Steak

My husband had surgery this week, so I really wanted to make his favorite foods for him. He loves chicken fried steak, so that’s what I made! I adapted the recipe a bit from:

http://longhornsteaksathome.blogspot.com/2012/12/chicken-fried-steak.html

Changes I made:

1. I pre-seasoned the cube steaks with a light sprinkle of salt and pepper on each side (don’t skip this step- I promise it makes all the difference!)

2. I used gluten-free flour, of course! Still working with my old standby, Premium Gold flax and whole-grain AP gluten-free flour. Bargain tip: if you have a TJ Maxx, Homegoods, or Marshall’s around, check to see if they carry this flour! I always end up buying it at a discounted price at these stores.

3. I have a gas stovetop, so the heat can get pretty high. I found I ended up cooking the steaks 2-3 minutes per side on med-high heat rather than the entire 5 minutes noted in the original recipe. Just keep an eye on it!

4. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of bacon grease to the gravy to add to the flavor. Sounds gross, but it’s SO good!

Let me know what y’all think!

 

A couple pictures:

Without Gravy

With Gravy

Leave a Reply

